Michel Deudon

Michel Deudon

Professor, animator, independent

Introduction

Hi! I’m Michael, I was born in New York. I teach mathematics, physics-chemistry and English in high school and higher education. I have been teaching in Montpellier since 2022, at the Paul Valéry university (contractual in 2022/23) and with the association GSC in La Mosson. I run preventive workshops on social networks and I offer academic support. In the past, I worked in social reintegration in La Reunion, as a research engineer at Element AI in London and as a data scientist at Vinted in Berlin. I received three awards from the European Space Agency (ESA) with colleagues and I mentored researchers at NASA FDL in California before joining the désert’heureuses. I co-founded the Binet Soupe in 2015 and in 2020 a non profit to celebrate diversity along the seasons. I like dancing, rollerblading and outdoor activities.

Interests
  • Ecology
  • Psychology
  • Language learning
Education
  • MBA, 2021

    Collège des Ingénieurs

  • MSc in data science, 2019

    Télécom Paris / ENS Cachan

  • MSc in applied mathematics, 2017

    Ecole Polytechnique

Explore top courses

Mathematics

Mathematics

Tutoring in mathematics in high school in Montpellier. Teaching analysis, algebra, statistics and programming for bachelors/masters.

Physics, Chemistry

Physics, Chemistry

Tutoring in physics and chemistry in high school in Montpellier. Training in Earth observation science for masters/PhD.

Tackling disinformation par la formation

Tackling disinformation par la formation

Pedagogical awareness of disinformation and practical case studies for teachers, students, researchers and practitioners of language learning and development.

English

English

Tailor-made English courses, to learn and practice with a native American. Proofreading CVs, cover letters and scientific articles to study or work abroad!

Local Seasonal Workshops

Local Seasonal Workshops

Tailor-made art & science workshops to celebrate biodiversity along the seasons, for youth and general public.

Ecolinguistics and frugal innovation

Ecolinguistics and frugal innovation

Introduction to ecolinguistics, natural language processing and neuro linguistic programming, in MIASHS license / master or reskilling.

Testimonials

The emotional weather of the day, it’s great that we are asked how do we feel. We tend to think that we are not very close to the teacher as students, it is good to reduce this pseudo distance! - Thomas, BSc student at Paul Valéry (2023)

We would like to express our sincere thanks to Michel who made a very good contribution to this edition, with a presence during the seven days from the beginning to the end of each session while always being available and benevolent towards the students. He managed to add even more motivation to some students, such that they did not want to leave him after that. - Karim, Volunteer in the GSC association (2022)

Having worked together with Michel on data science projets, I can confidently say that he is very competent, passionate about science and a cheerful companion! - Titas, Decision Scientist at Vinted (2021)

During my final year in high school, Michel helped me a lot in science. He is a tutor with a lot of patience and who knows how to explain in a clear way both mathematics, physics and chemistry. He is pedagogical, and knows how to motivate students. He was able to give me an appetite for mathematics, which was far from won! - Céline, BBA student at IE Madrid (2020)

The classes were really helpful in the transition from middle school to high school. Thanks to Michel, Jeanne was able to choose the mathematics specialty when at the beginning of the year, she was encountering difficulties. Teaching was adapted and benevolent, based on clear communication. - Sylvie, Mother of Jeanne (2020)

I had the chance to work with Michel as part of the Frontier Development Lab, an 8-week research sprint focussed on applying machine learning to answer long-standing high-impact research questions in Earth Science, Astrophysics, Heliophysics, and Planetary Sciences. As someone who was new to machine learning research, I benefitted greatly from working with Michel. He explained complex concepts very clearly and helped me develop my programming skills via 1-on-1 pair-programming sessions. - Anna Jungbluth, PhD (2019)

Ready to learn?

Michel Deudon

Michel Deudon

Professeur, animateur, indépendant

Introduction

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Michel, je suis né à New York. J’enseigne les mathématiques, la physique-chimie et l’anglais au lycée et supérieur. J’enseigne à Montpellier depuis 2022, à l’université Paul Valéry (contractuel en 2022/23) et avec l’association GSC à La Mosson. J’anime des ateliers préventifs sur les réseaux sociaux et je propose des séances de soutien scolaire. Dans le passé, j’ai travaillé en réinsertion sociale à La Réunion, comme ingénieur-chercheur chez Element AI à Londres et data scientist chez Vinted à Berlin. J’ai reçu trois prix de l’Agence Spatiale Européenne (ESA) avec des collègues et j’ai mentoré des chercheurs à la NASA en Californie avant de rejoindre les désert’heureuses. J’ai co-fondé le binet Soupe en 2015 et en 2020 une association pour célébrer la diversité au fil des saisons. J’aime danser, faire du roller et les activités de plein air.

Intérêts
  • Ecologie
  • Psychologie
  • Linguistique
Formation
  • MBA, 2020

    Collège des Ingénieurs

  • Ingénieur, 2014

    Ecole Polytechnique

  • Prépa Physique Chimie, 2012

    Lycée Pasteur

Explorer les formations

Mathématiques

Mathématiques

Cours particulier de mathématiques et soutien scolaire au lycée à Montpellier. Cours d’analyse, d’algèbre, statistiques et programmation en licence/master MIASHS.

Physique Chimie

Physique Chimie

Cours particulier de physique chimie et soutien scolaire au lycée à Montpellier. Formation sur l’observation de la Terre en master/doctorat.

Ateliers Préventifs sur les Réseaux Sociaux

Ateliers Préventifs sur les Réseaux Sociaux

Ateliers préventifs pour permettre aux jeunes de s’exprimer dans un cadre bienveillant, et s’informer, pour sensibiliser aux alternatives aux réseaux sociaux, ouvert au public.

Lutter contre la desinformation par la formation

Lutter contre la desinformation par la formation

Sensibilisation pédagogique à la désinformation et études de cas pratiques à destination d’enseignants, d’étudiants, de chercheurs et practiciens de l’apprentissage des langues.

Anglais

Anglais

Stages d’anglais sur mesure, pour apprendre et pratiquer avec un américain natif. Relecture de CV, lettres de motivation et articles scientifiques pour étudier ou travailler à l’étranger!

Ateliers Local Seasonal

Ateliers Local Seasonal

Ateliers arts & science, sur mesure, pour célébrer la biodiversité au fil des saisons, à destination de jeunes et grand public.

Ecolinguistique et innovation frugale

Ecolinguistique et innovation frugale

Introduction à l’écolinguistique, traitement automatique des langues et programmation neuro linguistique, en licence/master MIASHS ou en reconversion.

Témoignages

La météo émotionnelle du jour, c’est super bien qu’on puisse nous demander ça. On a tendance à penser que l’on est peu proche entre l’encadrant pédagogique et étudiant, c’est bien de réduire cette pseudo distance ! - Thomas, Étudiant en licence à Paul Valéry (2023)

Nous tenons à adresser nos sincères remerciements à Michel qui a apporté une contribution de très bonne qualité à cette édition, avec une présence durant les sept jours du début jusqu’à la fin de chaque séance tout en étant toujours disponible et bienveillant envers les élèves. Il a réussi à rajouter encore plus de motivations à certains élèves, de sorte qu’ils ne voulaient plus le quitter après cela. - Karim, Bénévole au sein de l’association GSC (2022)

Ayant travaillé avec Michel sur des projets de science des données, je peux dire avec confiance qu’il est très compétent, passionné par la science et un compagnon joyeux! - Titas, Decision Scientist chez Vinted (2021)

Au cours de mon année de terminale, Michel m’a beaucoup aidé dans les matières scientifiques. C’est un tuteur avec beaucoup de patience et qui sait expliquer de manière claire aussi bien les mathématiques que la physique chimie. Il est très pédagogue, et sait motiver les élèves. Il a su me donner le goût des mathématiques, ce qui était loin d’être gagné! - Céline, Étudiante en licence à l’IE Madrid (2020)

Les cours ont été d’une grande aide pour la transition du collège au lycée. Grâce à Michel, Jeanne a pu choisir la spécialité mathématiques alors qu’en début d’année, elle rencontrait des difficultés. L’enseignement était adapté et bienveillant, basé sur une communication claire. - Sylvie, Mère de Jeanne (2020)

J’ai eu la chance de travailler avec Michel dans le cadre du Frontier Development Lab, un sprint de recherche de 8 semaines pour répondre à des questions de recherche à fort impact en sciences de la Terre, en astrophysique, en héliophysique et en sciences planétaires. En tant que novice dans la recherche sur l’apprentissage automatique, j’ai grandement bénéficié de mon travail avec Michel. Il a expliqué très clairement des concepts complexes et m’a aidé à développer mes compétences en programmation via des sessions en binôme. - Anna Jungbluth, PhD (2019)

Prêt à apprendre?